Dutch Heritage Links

Dutch Culture USA http://www.dutchcultureusa.com/

Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area – Dutch Heritage Events http://www.hudsonrivervalley.com/events/ev-category/dutch

Netherlands Worldwide – Dutch Consulate General in the United States https://www.netherlandsworldwide.nl/countries/united-states

New Netherland Institute https://www.newnetherlandinstitute.org/

New Netherland Museum http://www.newnetherlandmuseum.org/index.html

New Netherland Research Center http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/newnetherland/

The Holland Society of New York http://www.hollandsociety.org/

 

Links for Educators

American Family Immigration Center at Ellis Island http://ellisisland.org

American Museum of Natural History https://www.amnh.org/learn-teach

Council of State Archivists https://www.statearchivists.org/

EdTech Teacher: Best of History Websites http://besthistorysites.net/american-history/government/

Federal Depository Library Program https://www.fdlp.gov/

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum https://fdrlibrary.org/ 

Hudson River Valley Heritage for Educators https://www.hrvh.org/?q=educators

Internet Archive https://archive.org/

Library of Congress: Teachers http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpedu/index.html 

Mario Einaudi Center for International Studies – Institute for African Development http://iad.einaudi.cornell.edu/

Museum Association of New York http://www.museumwise.org/

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA): Educator Resources http://www.archives.gov/education/ 

New York Historical Society: Education https://www.nyhistory.org/web/default.php?section=education&page=teacher_resources 

New York History Net http://www.nyhistory.com/featured.htm 

New York State Archives http://www.archives.nysed.gov 

PBS Learning Media New York https://ny.pbslearningmedia.org/

Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies http://www.smithsonianeducation.org/educators/ 

U. S. Capitol Visitor Center: Education https://www.visitthecapitol.gov/education

USA.gov Resources for Teachers https://www.usa.gov/teachers

 

Links for Students 

Census for Kids https://www.census.gov/schools/census_for_kids/

Congress for Kids https://www.congressforkids.net/

iCivics – Learn about Government through Games https://www.icivics.org/

Museum of Natural History: Ology – A Science Website for Kids http://ology.amnh.org

New York Department of State Kids Room https://www.dos.ny.gov/kids_room/508/home2.html

New York State Agriculture and Markets Color NY www.agriculture.ny.gov/ColorNY.pdf

New York State Assembly Kids Page http://assembly.state.ny.us/kids/ 

New York State Home Page http://www.ny.gov/

New York State Senate – Children's Books and Web Sites about the U.S. Government https://www.senate.gov/reference/bibliography/kids/kids.shtml

The Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/ 

The Smithsonian Education http://www.smithsonianeducation.org/students/index.html 

Today in History http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/today/today.html

U. S. Capitol Visitor Center: Students https://www.visitthecapitol.gov/education/students#.VYqxRtJVhBd

United States Courts: Educational Resources http://www.uscourts.gov/about-federal-courts/educational-resources

 

Resources for Genealogists

Birth, Death and Marriage Records https://ulstercountyny.gov/archives/faq

City of Kingston, Clerk/Registrar https://kingston-ny.gov/content/8399/8469/8535/default.aspx

Greater Hudson Heritage Network http://www.greaterhudson.org/ 

Hope Farm Press http://www.hopefarm.com/ 

Kingston Library Links http://www.kingstonlibrary.org/links.htm 

New York Genealogical & Biographical Society https://www.newyorkfamilyhistory.org/

New York Historical Society Museum & Library http://www.nyhistory.org/

New York State Archives http://www.archives.nysed.gov/ 

New York State County Historians http://www.aphnys.org/ 

New York State Department of Health, Vital Statistics http://www.health.state.ny.us/nysdoh/consumer/vr.htm

Purple Mountain Press http://www.catskill.net/purple/about.htm 

Ulster County City, Town & Village Historians https://ulstercountyny.gov/local-historians

Ulster County Genealogical Society http://www.ucgsny.org/

Ulster County Historian, Geoff Miller http://ulstercountyny.gov/ulster-county-historian

Ulster County Poorhouse http://ulstercountyny.gov/poorhouse/

Ulster Surrogate Court – Wills/Estate Proceedings https://www.nycourts.gov/courts/3jd/ulster/3JD-Ulster%20Surrogate%20Court.shtml

 

Local Museums, Repositories, Historical Societies & Heritage Sites

British Brigade/16th Queen’s Light Dragoons – Revolutionary War era British re-enactment group http://www.lobsterback.org/

Burning of Kingston Re-enactment http://www.burningofkingston.com/ 

Byrdcliffe Art Colony http://www.woodstockguild.org/

Canal Forge http://hudsonvalleyblacksmith.com/

D & H Canal Historical Society & Museum http://www.canalmuseum.org/

Ellenville Public Library & Museum http://eplm.org/

Empire State Railway Museum http://www.esrm.com/

Esopus Meadows Lighthouse http://www.esopusmeadowslighthouse.org/home

First Ulster Militia – Revolutionary War era colonial re-enactment group [will have website soon]

Friends of Historic Kingston http://www.fohk.org/

Friends of Historic Rochester https://www.facebook.com/FHRACCORD/

Gomez Mill House Museum http://www.gomez.org/

Greenfield Park Schoolhouse/Museum, Route 52 West, Greenfield Park, 845-647-6560 [no current website]

Historic Huguenot Street https://www.huguenotstreet.org/

Historical Society of Shawangunk & Gardiner http://www.wallkillhistory.com/

Hudson River Maritime Museum & the Rondout Lighthouse http://www.hrmm.org/

Hudson River Valley Heritage https://www.hrvh.org/

Hudson Valley Vernacular Architecture http://www.hvva.org/

Hurley Heritage Society http://www.hurleyheritagesociety.org/

John Burroughs Association/Sanctuary at Slabsides http://www.johnburroughsassociation.org/

Kingston Land Trust http://www.kingstonlandtrust.org/

Klyne Esopus Museum http://klyneesopusmuseum.us/

Kripplebush Schoolhouse Museum http://kripplebushschoolhousemuseum.weebly.com/

Locust Lawn Farm & Terwilliger House Historic Estate http://www.lgny.org/locust-lawn-farm

Milton on Hudson Train Station https://www.townofmarlboroughny.org/2265/Milton-Train-Station-Foundation

O & W Napanoch Train Station & Museum http://nyow.org/Articles/Napanoch/napanoch.html

Old Dutch Church National Historic Landmark Museum http://www.olddutchchurch.org/museum.php

Old Dutch Reformed Church and Heritage Museum http://www.olddutchchurch.org/

Opus 40 & the Quarryman’s Museum https://www.opus40.org/

Perrine’s Bridge, Junction of Route 32 and Route 213, Rifton, 845-338-8109 http://www.nycoveredbridges.org/perrines/ 

Plattekill Historical Society http://plattekill.lib.ny.us/plattekill_historical_society.htm

Red Feather Drummers of the Association of Native Americans of the Mid-Hudson Region – Contact: Judith Boggess (AKA Grandmother Judith Laughing Owl), Keeper of the Sacred Women’s Drum, Judithab657[at]gmail[dot]com, 845-657-9735 [no current website]

Reher Center for Immigrant History and Culture http://www.rehercenter.org/

Saugerties Historical Society http://saugertieshistoricalsociety.org/

Saugerties Lighthouse Conservancy http://www.saugertieslighthouse.com/

Save Native Sites, Contact: Judy Abbott (845) 679-8440 http://savenativesites.com

Scions of Patria, 17th Century Dutch Re-enactment https://www.facebook.com/TheScions/

Senate House State Historic Site http://senatehousekingston.org/

Shandaken Historical Museum http://catskillpark.com/museum.html

The Century House Historical Society & A. J. Snyder Estate http://www.centuryhouse.org/

Third Ulster Militia – Revolutionary War era colonial re-enactment group [no current website]

Town of Lloyd Historic Preservation Society http://www.tolhps.org/

Town of Olive Historical Society http://town.olive.ny.us/history/

Transart & Cultural Services http://www.transartinc.org/

Trolley Museum of New York http://www.tmny.org/

Ulster County Historical Society http://ulstercountyhs.org/

Volunteer Firemen's Hall and Museum of Kingston https://kingstonvolunteerfiremensmuseum.weebly.com/

Wittenberg Center for Alternative Resources http://www.wittenbergcenter.org/

Woodstock Museum https://woodstockschoolofart.org/

Woodstock School of Art https://woodstockschoolofart.org/

 

Things do to in Kingston and Ulster County

Ulstercountyalive.com – Dining, Entertainment, Lodging and more! http://ulstercountyalive.com/

Path Through History by I Love NY – Explore New York’s Rich Heritage https://paththroughhistory.iloveny.com/ 

Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area in Partnership with the National Park Service http://www.hudsonrivervalley.com/

Disclaimer: These links are being provided as a convenience and for informational purposes only; they do not constitute an endorsement or an approval by the Ulster County Clerk’s Office of any of the products, services or opinions of the corporation or organization or individual. The Ulster County Clerk’s Office bears no responsibility for the accuracy, legality or content of the external site or for that of subsequent links. Contact the external site for answers to questions regarding its content.