The Neighbor Notification Law

What You Need to Know Before Selling Pesticides in Ulster County

For Retailers

Any retail establishment that sells general use pesticides labeled for commercial or residential lawn application uses must post in a conspicuous place, as close as possible to each display location of such pesticides, the informational sign required by the Neighbor Notification Law.

What are the requirements for the informational sign?

- Information on the sign must be printed in letters at least 16 point bold type against a brightly colored background.
- The following wording MUST appear on informational signs:
 - "Pesticides, although useful tools to control pests, may pose certain risks to the applicator and other non-target, often beneficial organisms.. To help reduce such risks and to increase pest control effectiveness, state and federal laws require all applicators to strictly follow all pesticide label instructions and to only use these products on the sites and pests listed on the label.

New York State Environmental Conservation Law (subdivision 1 of section 33-1004) requires requires individuals who apply lawn care pesticides to their residential properties within this county to post visual notification markers (signs) along the perimeter of any treated area over 100 square feet.

Visual notification markers (signs) must be placed to be clearly visible to persons immediately outside the treated perimeter; and

- (i) must be posted at least 12 inches above the ground and be at least 4 inches by 5 inches in size and
- (ii) must be in place BEFORE the pesticide is applied and must instruct persons not to enter the property and not to remove the signs for a period of 24 hours.
- (iii) such instructions must be printed in letters at least three-eights of an inch in height.

We recommend that you notify your neighbors prior to the application of pesticides so that they may take precautions to avoid exposure,"

Enforcement and Penalties

The Neighbor Notification Law is enforced by the Ulster County Department of Health and the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation. Maximum penalties, after a hearing, include:

- a written warning and educational materials for the first violation;
- a \$100 fine for the second violation;
- a \$250 fine for the third and subsequent violations.



Ulster County Department of Health

