
What you need
to know to inform
your tenants when

pesticides are
applied to adjacent

properties.

The
Neighbor

Notification Law
for Owners of

Multi-Family Dwellings

Enforcement and Penalties

The Neighbor Notification Law will be
enforced by the Ulster County Health
Department and the New York State Department
of Conservation.

The penalties set forth for property owners in
the Neighbor Notification Law are up to a
maximum of:
· a written warning and educational materials

for the first violation;
· a $100 fine for the second violation;

· a $250 fine for the third and subsequent
violations.

These penalties may be levied only after a
hearing or opportunity to be heard.

For more information, call the
Ulster County

Health Department
(845) 340-3021

or
see our  website at

www.co.ulster.ny.us/health

This brochure is intended to provide highlights
of the Neighbor Notification Law. Obtain a full

copy of the law to ensure you are in full
compliance. Copies can be obtained from the
Ulster County Health Department or visit our

website at www.co.ulster.ny.us/health.

What can I do if some of my
residents do not want to receive
any notices of commercial lawn
applications?

There may be many instances in which
people living in apartment complexes
do not want to receive notices of nearby
commercial lawn applications. The
regulations are flexible for such people.
The regulations require that the 48 hour
notice must be given to the owner or
owners’ agent of the multiple dwelling or
other person in a position of authority.
The occupants must then be supplied
with the written notice within 24 hours
by the owner or owners’ agent or person
of authority over the multiple dwelling.
Every occupant has a right to receive the
written notice; however an occupant is
free to work out any arrangement with
the owner, owners’ agent, or other
person of authority over the multiple
dwelling to refuse or avoid further
notices. If the occupant does not ask you
to hold any further notices, you must
give each notice to the occupant as
required by the regulations.
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What must be included in the
written notice?

The written notice must be in at least 12 point type
and contain at a minimum the following information:

· the address of the premises where the
application is to take place

· the name, telephone number and pesticide
business registration number or pesticide appli-
cator certification identification number of the
person applying or supervising the pesticide
application

· the specific date of each scheduled application
and two alternative dates, if weather or other
conditions might preclude the original application
date

· the product name and the US environmental
protection Agency (USEPA) registration number
for each pesticide to be applied

· a prominent statement that reads:
“This notice is to inform you of a pending lawn
care pesticide application to a neighboring
property. You may wish to take precautions to
minimize pesticide exposure to yourself, family
members, pets or family possessions. Further
information about the product or products being
applied, including any warnings that appear on
the labels of such pesticides that are pertinent to
the protection of humans, animals of the
environment, can be obtained by calling the
National Pesticide Telecommunications Network
at 1-800-858-7378 or the New York State
Department of Health Center for Environmental
Health information line at 1-800-458-1158.”

What are the requirements for
property owners or owners’
agents under the Neighbor
Notification Law?

At least 48 hours prior to any commercial
application, the pesticide applicator or business
making such application shall supply written
notice to occupants of all dwellings, or to
owners or owners’ agents or to other persons in
authority for multiple dwellings and other
occupied structures, on abutting property that is
within 150 feet of the site of such application.
The written notice may be provided by you in
any          reasonable manner including, but not
limited to, mailing or leaving in a conspicuous
location on the abutting property.

As the owner or owners’ agent, or other person
in authority of a multiple dwelling, you must
give a copy of the notice (the one you receive
from the commercial applicator at least 48 hours
prior to the application) to the occupants of
each residential unit at least 24 hours prior to
any proposed application.

As the owner of an occupied structure other
than a dwelling, you must post the notice at
least 24 hours prior to any  application in a
conspicuous location accessible and visible to all
individuals who may enter the structure.

The Neighbor
Notification Law*

As a property owner, you are required
by law to inform the occupants of your
unit at least 24 hours prior to any
proposed pesticide application to
property adjacent to their dwellings.

*The Neighbor Notification Law of 2000,
formally known as chapter 285 of the Laws
of 2000, added new provisions to title 10 of
Article 33 of Environmental Conservation
Law (ECL), regarding posting of visual
notification markers for residential lawn
applications, posting of signs at certain
retail establishments, and mandating
neighbor notification of certain commercial
lawn applications. The Neighbor Notifica-
tion Law became effective on January 1,
2007.
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