Ulster County Historian

Anne M. Gordon

38 Rondout Harbor
Port Ewen, NY 12466
Phone: 845-419-5137
Email: pasaran@msn.com

The County Historian coordinates the work of town historians and local historical societies; is an advocate for local history and historic preservation; interprets the past through research, writing, teaching and public presentations; and provides guidance in research on topics dealing with Ulster County history.

Associate Historian

Rose LeFever
124 Main St.
Bloomington, NY 12411-5213
845-331-5429

Association of Public Historians of New York State

Local Historians

Denning

Jean Wsitzler
PO Box 11
Claryville, NY 12725
845-985-2411 (Town Hall)
845-985-7076 (Home)

Ellenville (Village)

Paul Ross
Box 6
Ellenville, NY 12428-1396

Esopus

Diane McCord, Town Clerk
Town Hall
172 Broadway
Port Ewen, New York 12466
845-331-3709
esopus@ulster.net

Gardiner

Dr. Carleton Mabee
2121 Rt. 44/55
Gardiner, NY 12525
845-255-1968
carletonmabee@juno.com
Fax: 845-255-9146

Hardenburgh

Gail Hillriegel
6935 Millbrook Road
845-586-4863
regalhill@catskill.net

Hurley

David Baker
Hurley Town Hall
PO Box 569
Hurley, NY 12443
845-331-0963 (office)
Hurley-historian@libertybiz.rr.com

Kingston (City)

Edwin Ford
58 Valentine Ave
Kingston, NY 12401
845-331-6535

Kingston (Town)

Ernie Smith
25 Ruby Road
Kingston, NY 12401-7120
845-382-1446
esmith4@hvc.rr.com

Lloyd

Terry Scott
12 Church Street
Highland, NY 12528
845-691-7502
historian@TownofLlyod.com

Marbletown

Emily Stokes
405 Mohonk Rd.
High Falls, NY 12440-0023
845-687-7031

Marlborough

Marylou Mahan
18 Gobblers Knob
Marlboro, NY 12542
845-236-7363

New Paltz

Dr. Alfred Marks
10 Bruce St.
New Paltz, NY 12561-0263
845-255-0108
marksA@newpaltz.edu

Olive

Ruth-Ann Muller
97 Dry Brook Rd.
West Shokan, NY 12494
845-657-2565
ruthanne_m@hotmail.com

Platekill

Muriel Obermeyer
P.O. Box 45
Modena, NY 12548
845-883-7331

Rochester

Alice Schoonmaker
41 Garden Lane
Accord, NY 12404
845-626-7103

Rosendale

Ann Gilchrist
Rosendale Town Hall
424 Main Street
Rosendale, NY 12472
845-658-3159

Saugerties

Audrey Klinkenberg
22 Louis Avenue
Saugerties, NY 12477

Saugerties(Village)

Marjorie Block
45 Clermont Street
Saugerties, NY 12477

Shandaken

Nancy Smith
PO Box 67
Shandaken, NY 12480
845688-3116

Shawangunk

Barbara Palinkas
93 Red Barn Rd.
Pine Bush, NY 12566
845-744-2592
Barb_Palinkas@earthlink.com

Ulster (Town of)

Historian Committee Town of Ulster
c/o Karen Markisenis
Town of Ulster Town Hall
#1 Town Hall Drive
Lake Katrine, NY 12449

845-382-2765 (ext. 1)
Kmarkisenis@hvc.rr.com

Warwarsing

John Unverzagt
c/o Ed and Al's Barbershop
Canal St.
Ellenville, NY 12428
845-647-9684

Woodstock

Richard Heppner
Town of Woodstock
Comeau Drive
Woodstock, New York 12498
845-679-2256 
rheppner@hvc.rr.com