Ulster County Executive Mike Hein Announces Ulster County's 2016 Top Cop Awards

Posted May 5, 2017

Kingston, NY – Ulster County Executive Mike Hein is pleased to announce Ulster County’s 2016 TOP COP award winners. The awards were issued on April 27, 2017 at a ceremony during the Mid-Hudson Region Enforcement/Prosecution Conference held at Anthony’s Pier 9, New Windsor, NY.  The ceremony, sponsored by the Mid-Hudson Region STOP-DWI Coordinators, was held in recognition of those law enforcement officers who have excelled in their region.

“I want to congratulate all the honorees recognized at the 2016 TOP COP Awards Ceremony and thank them for their service,” said Ulster County Executive Mike Hein.  “Ulster County is privileged to have law enforcement personnel whom are dedicated to protecting and keeping our residents safe and the awards are a testament to their commitment and professionalism.   I want to personally congratulate Sheriff Paul Van Blarcum and his outstanding team, Captain James Michael and the New York State Troopers, as well as the many other courageous law enforcement officers in our towns throughout Ulster County.”

Ulster County awards were presented by Melanie S. Mullins, Ulster County STOP DWI Coordinator in the following categories:      


                        1st place – Officer Michael DeFrance, Kingston Police Department   


               2nd place (3 way tie) – 

                        Detective Vincent LaSpina, Kingston Police Department

                        Officer Chris Miller, Lloyd Police Department

                        Officer John Zani, Lloyd Police Department



                        1st place - Deputy Brett McGuire                                                                      

                        2nd place - Deputy Donald Corso


               NYS POLICE- Troop F:          

                        1st place – Trooper Robert J. Eggering

                        2nd Place - Trooper Matthew J. Fertoli


               EXEMPLARY SERVICE AWARDS were also presented to:

                        Officer Michael Rizzo, New Paltz Police Department

                        Officer Don Corso, Shawangunk Police Department                                                                                                   

Awards are based on total of DWI related arrests made between October 1, 2015 through September 30, 2016.

Assisting with the presentations were: Chief Egidio Tinti, Kingston Police Department; Chief Daniel Waage, Lloyd Police Department; Chief Frank Petrone, Shawangunk Police Department; Lieutenant Perry Soule, UC Sheriff’s Office; and Captain James Michael, NYS Police Troop F.